If you received an email about an open rental (Subject line: "Looks like you've had that bike out for a while...") but are no longer riding, we encourage you to head back to the bike to ensure it is properly locked. Please note that if the bike was not locked properly, you will be charged $0.08 per minute for any time the bike was left unlocked, over any included daily minutes.
Give the lock a tug to make sure the lock is engaged. Click on the green checkmark button and make sure you see the “Enter your acc#” screen, which indicates that the bike has been properly locked.
If you do not have the U-lock, stay with the bike and call us at (866) 512-BIKE right away. Never leave your bike unattended or you may be charged the cost of recovery or replacement of the bike, up to $1,500. Please wait for a BIKETOWN staff member to arrive and retrieve the bike.
If you lost your U-lock during your ride and are unable to recover it, your account will be charged $20 for the cost of the lock.
If you're certain that you locked your bike properly and saw the “Thank You” message after locking the bike, please contact BIKETOWN customer service, now supported by Lyft, with the bike number and location (address or intersection). We will remotely close your rental and remove any erroneous charges.